living below the lines

I’m excited to be taking part in the Live Below the Line challenge next week. Did you know that 1.2 billion people globally live in what is categorized as extreme poverty? The challenge is a global movement that focuses on raising awareness and ending poverty.

In the United States, a person living in extreme poverty has $7.50 to spend on food each week. I will be documenting my experience of living on $1.50 a day for 5 days beginning Monday, June 30. (My children will not be partaking in the challenge and will be eating all regular meals so I will be eating separate dinners from them for the week.)

I know that once the challenge is over, I can simply return to eating my normal meals but for billions of people, this is a daily reality for them. The purpose is to get a true grasp of what it means to live on such a meager amount. I know what it is like to be poor and live on very little. I have even been on food stamps before. But food stamps allowed me plenty of meals and snacks and I never went hungry. It was a lifesaver for my small family when we couldn’t make ends meet living on minimum wage. I imagine life to be very different on $1.50 a day, where hunger is a constant. Once the 5 day challenge is over, the fight doesn’t end there. I hope to continue working with the cause, raising money to help families living in extreme poverty. When you sign up on their web site (details below), you will get a personalized page that gives you more information on goal-setting, how to raise money for the cause, and all the tools and ideas you will need to make it happen.

If you would like to join me or just want more information, check out the web site, Live below the line: United States.

Leave a Reply

