living below the line: challenge aborted

I hope you all will forgive me as I only made it one day into the Live Below the Line Challenge– the challenge I took on to help raise awareness about extreme poverty. My best friend was immediately concerned when she noticed the correlation between my blogging about the food I was taking in during the challenge and when I used to blog about the food I was taking in when I was anorexic. Not surprisingly, the amounts were very similar. She was worried it would be triggering for me. When she came to me with her concern, I had to pause and reflect for a moment. On the first day, it had only taken a matter of hours before my eating disordered (though recovered) brain was telling myself this would be an easy way to lose weight. I probably thought this more times than is normal and that reason alone is enough to abandon the challenge.

I will never be able to diet like a normal person or do a challenge like Live Below the Line. I take food restriction to an extreme and become triggered very easily even though I am recovered from my eating disorder. I am sensitive to numbers and calories and I probably will be for the rest of my life. I probably should have known better going into this challenge but hindsight is 20/20, right? Poverty awareness is something I feel very passionate about and I wanted to do a good thing but there are other things that can be done to help that don’t involve meal restriction (IE: donations, participating in food drives, volunteering at the food bank, petitioning, become more aware by watching documentaries, etc)

I do encourage you, however, if you do not have an unhealthy relationship with food, to look into participating in the challenge. Even though I only engaged in one day, I feel like I gained a deeper understanding of what it truly means to live below the lines.

2 responses to “living below the line: challenge aborted

Leave a Reply

